The Keilor Park Soccer Club was originally established in 1957, at the Blue Cellar Restaurant in Fitzroy, which doubled as the club’s administrative headquarters until 1961. The Club originally appointed two (2) Administrators to organise the formation and structure of the Club and election of the first Committee. According to club records, the first official game of soccer was played in 1958.
The Club’s first home ground was at Royal Park, behind the current Royal Children’s Hospital. The Club has had a number of home grounds over the period including Elwood, Footscray, Maribyrnong and in 1974 finally made its permanent base at Keilor Park Reserve.
In the mid to late sixties, the first ideas about locating the Club at Keilor were formed. It was a hard and painstaking process which brought the Club into severe financial difficulties. The Club was allocated some land at Keilor Park Reserve and after many working bees the first official training session was conducted on 3 February 1976 and the first home game was played against Doveton on 3 July of that same year.
The Club colours of purple and white were selected after the famous ‘Viennese Violets’ from Austria. These colours are maintained till today and are unique not only in the sport of soccer but in other sports throughout Victoria.
When training commenced in 1976, there were no facilities available, with the players cars doubling as their change rooms. In 1979, the present day Club rooms were built and paid for by the Keilor Park Soccer Club members.
From such humble beginnings, the Club now boasts: -
- Three (3) full size grass soccer pitches (with lighting)
- Access to two (2) synthetic soccer pitches – seasonal allocation of one pitch to Keilor Park Soccer Club (with lighting)
- Fully air conditioned and heated club rooms
- Three (3) male and two (2) female change rooms
- Bar & Kitchen facilities
- 110 capacity asphalted car park